My Northwest Iowa Dad is the Best

June 15, 2012 at 1:18 pm

My northwest Iowa dad is the best.  He’s a cattle trader.  He chews tobacco.  He hangs with all the old guys up at the gas station every morning in the small town of Newell.
12 years ago he wasn’t so supportive of me coming out of the closet.  But as I’ve dated guys over the years and brought them home, he’s warmed up to the idea of me being gay.  Now he hands me the Des Moines Register whenever there’s a story on marriage equality.  One time a young lesbian wrote an article in support of gay marriage on the opinion page.  He handed it to me and said, “Now that’s a pretty good article!”
It makes me choke up to think about how far my rural Iowa dad has come.
I’m so lucky to have him in my life.  He’s the best dad of a gay son in all of Buena Vista county – I guarantee it.
This story was sent to us by Shaun, talking about his father Pat.
Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Why “gay marriage” is important Cody & Joey


A One Iowa public education project

Contact Us!

Why Marriage Matters Iowa is a project of Freedom to Marry and the One Iowa Education Fund.

For more information, please contact One Iowa at 515.288.4019 or email info@oneiowa.org

For press, please contact Matty Smith at 515.288.4019 x212 or email matty@oneiowa.org

Twitter Updates


